12.0 THE CHINESE CIVIL WAR
From C3i #21, copyright RBM Studio
The Chinese Civil War Variant is meant to be played within the
context of the existing rules regarding the China Card (see 9.0).
However, where these rules conflict with existing rules or event
card text, this section of the rules takes precedence.
12.1 The Chinese Civil War space
The Chinese Civil War space is considered adjacent to the Soviet
Union and only the Soviet Union. The space is considered to be
in Asia, but not South East Asia. It does not affect any scoring
card. The only action that may
be taken on the Chinese Civil
War space is the placement
of Influence Points by the
Soviet player. The US player
may not use Operations or
events of any kind to effect
the Chinese Civil War space.
Once the Soviet player has
placed 3 Influence Points on the Chinese Civil War space, it has
no further effect. The markers may be returned to the Soviet
player’s pool, and the Chinese Civil War space is ignored for
the remainder of the game.
The Soviet Union must place three Influence on the Chinese
Civil War space to Control it. Soviet Influence is placed in the
Chinese Civil War space according to the rules for placing influence
in countries (see 6.1). If the China card remains unclaimed
throughout the game, no player receives the victory point for
possession of the China Card during end game scoring.
12.3 Impact of Control
Until the Soviet Player has placed 3 Influence Points on the
Chinese Civil War space, the China Card is in no player’s possession.
Once the Soviet player had placed 3 Influence Points
into the space, the player immediately receives the China Card
face up and ready for play. Additionally, the ban on play of the
Red Scare/Purge and Formosan Resolution events is immediately
12.4 Event Restrictions
Until the Soviet player has placed 3 Influence Points on the
Chinese Civil War space, the Soviet player may not play Red
Scare/Purge nor Cultural Revolution as events. Additionally,
the US player may not play Formosan Resolution as an event.
These cards may be played for Operations Points normally.
12.4.1 Special US Condition: For the purposes of playing Ussuri
River Skirmish or Nixon Plays the China Card as events,
the US is deemed to be in possession of the China Card if the
Soviet Player has not yet placed the 3 Influence Points on the
Chinese Civil War space.
12.4.2 Until the Soviet Player has placed 3 Influence Points
on the Chinese Civil War space the Russian player subtracts
an additional 1 when rolling for the resolution of the Korean
12.4.3 Events made unplayable or restricted due to 12.4 are still
playable for Operations points as per rule 7.5.
Le plus simple est de jouer avec toutes les cartes, sans la variante chinoise, et on obtient un jeu équilibré. Du moins c'est ce que j'ai lu.
Mon expérience maintenant.
Quand on débute avec ce jeu, l'URSS gagne le plus souvent, les USA sont plus faibles en début de partie et toujours au bord de la défaite. Les erreurs du Russe sont sans conséquences à court terme tandis que celles des USA sont fatales.
Quand les joueurs gagnent en expérience, les parties deviennent équilibrées. Quel plaisir de gagner la première fois avec les USA!